Lexington Educator is Kentucky's Teacher of the Year

The Kentucky Teacher of the Year has been honored in ceremonies in the rotunda of the State Capitol.

This year’s Kentucky Teacher of the Year is Karen Gill of Henry Clay High School in Lexington. She received a check for 10-thousand dollars from Ashland Inc., and a decorative cut glass bowl.

“It’s a wonderful honor and I hope I can do justice to it,” says Gill.

Willow Hambrick of Scott County is the middle school teacher of the year and Lisa Wathen of Bullitt County is the elementary school teacher of the year. Each received a check for three thousand dollars from Ashland, Inc. and a cut glass vase.

They were among 24 teachers praised by Governor Beshear and top education officials for their achievements in the classroom.