Democrats Victorious in Most Kentucky Elections

Gabe Bullard, Phillip Bailey, Devin Katayama, Erica Peterson, Shelly Baskin and Stu Johnson contributed to this report. Democrats won five of the six statewide races on the ballot in Kentucky Tuesday. At the top of the ticket, incumbent Democrat Steve Beshear beat Republican challenger David Williams by nearly 20 points. In his victory speech, Beshear […]

Democrat Hollenbach Re-elected as Treasurer

In one of the closest races of the evening, incumbent Democrat Todd Hollenbach won re-election as Kentucky treasurer over GOP challenger K.C. Crosbie. With 95 percent of precincts reporting, Hollenbach had 49 percent of the vote, to Crosbie’s 46 percent. Libertarian candidate Kenneth Moellman–who campaigned on a platform of eliminating the office of the treasurer–won […]

Beshear and Grimes Win Governor, Secretary of State Races

With almost half of all precincts reporting, two races have been called for Democratic candidates. Incumbent Steve Beshear will retain the governorship, defeating GOP challenger and state Senate President David Williams. Lexington attorney Alison Lundergan Grimes has been elected Secretary of State, defeating Todd County businessman Bill Johnson by an overwhelming margin.

Live Blog From Frankfort: 7:00 Hour

Democratic supporters are making their way into the Kentucky Convention Center in Frankfort, with the band “The Torque” setting a celebratory mood as counting begins in Eastern Kentucky. Attorney General Jack Conway was among the first of the Democratic candidates to arrive at the convention center. Conway says he’s confident in today’s vote, but says […]

Awaiting Results in Lexington, Galbraith Touts Honesty, Good Ideas

by Stu Johnson, Kentucky Public Radio Independent gubernatorial candidate Gatewood Galbraith and his supporters are gathering at the Crown Plaza in his hometown of Lexington. Galbraith has run for governor several times and he says if this is not his night, it will be somebody’s else’s turn to take on the two major political parties. […]