Moyers & Company Joins the WFPL News Lineup

by Todd Mundt on February 9, 2012

Bill Moyers is back on-air, and he’s on WFPL. Moyers & Company is a weekly series the veteran journalist says will try to make sense of our tumultuous times, “for myself and hopefully for anyone who wants to keep me company.”

The new series began with three broadcasts exploring inequality in America. Last week, we aired that series at 1pm on WFPL. It featured a conversation with two noted political scientists, Jacob Hacker and Paul Pierson, authors of “Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer–and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class.”

The following two shows continued an exploration of the seminal decisions over the past 30 years that led to today’s great economic disparities. Moyers talked with David Stockman who, as Ronald Reagan’s powerful and controversial budget director, was “taken to the woodshed” for telling the truth about the administration’s tax policies. And Moyers spoke with former Citigroup Chairman John Reed, now chairman of the board of MIT, and former Senator Byron Dorgan, to explore how the mid-90’s merger of Citicorp and Travelers Group brought down a crucial firewall between banks and investment firms — the Glass-Steagall Act, which had protected consumers from financial calamity since the aftermath of the Great Depression.

Over succeeding weeks, Moyers & Company will continue to explore some of the defining issues of the day, including relevant insight from novelists, poets, and artists, scientists and philosophers, and leading scholars. Among those scheduled to appear are former Poet Laureate of the United States Rita Dove, social psychologist Jonathan Haidt on the moral values that influence our political choices; and the influential editor of Poetry Magazine, Christian Wiman, on faith, doubt, and suffering.

The broadcast will also feature regular political analysis from many of the people Moyers has called on over the years to interpret life in America, as well as new voices in the dialogue of democracy.

We’re excited to be able to air sharp, in-depth discussions like these on WFPL. Moyers & Company debuts February 13 and will air Mondays at 9pm. A note for fans of Smiley & West: the show continues to air in its principle timeslot: Saturdays at 8pm.

Click here for the WFPL schedule.

Comments Closed

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: