Deadline for Kentuckians Seeking FEMA Aid is July 18

Kentuckians whose property suffered damage as a result of the tornadoes and flooding from April 12 to May 20 have about three weeks to apply for aid from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

“There have been 1846 people who have registered for assistance, and of the 1846, 953 have been approved so far,” said David Hasemyer, a FEMA spokesperson. Hasemyer also said that $7.3 million has been distributed in aid so far.

Assistance is available for property owners in 21 Kentucky counties, including Jeferson County. The aid can include grants for home repairs and replacement of basic household items. To apply for assistance, call FEMA at 1-800-621-3362 or go to FEMA’s disaster assistance website.

The 21 counties with the July 18th deadline are Ballard, Boyd, Carlisle, Carroll, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Marshall, McLean, McCracken, Livingston, Pike, Union and Webster counties.