Hiring For State Fair To Begin Soon

by Gabe Bullard on July 28, 2010

The annual hiring process for temporary state fair workers begins next month, and the Kentucky State Fair Board is hiring fewer workers than last year.

About 450 workers will be hired this year at wages starting at $7.25 per hour. Fair board spokesperson Vicki Glass says the fair jobs and the fair itself are a consistent boost to the local economy every year.

“If you look at the last four years, the Kentucky State Fair Board has hired more than 2,000 people for fair work alone,” she says. “So it does make a dent.”

Last year, the fair board hired about 800 workers. Glass says some of those workers were hired in case others quit, but it seems unlikely that many of those hired this year will give up their jobs.

“We often have to hire a few extra people because there’s a lot of turnover at the fair, but last year we had very low turnover and we anticipate the same for 2010 and so we’re not going to have to hire as many people at the onset,” she says.

Hiring will be held at the following times in rooms 105-108 in South Win C of the Kentucky Exposition Center:

Monday, Aug. 9 7 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 10 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Applications will be accepted at the trailer off Crittenden Drive, near Gate 4, behind the armory during at following times:

Wednesday, Aug. 11 – Monday, Aug. 16 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 17 6 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 18 – Thursday, Aug. 19 6 a.m. – Midnight

Friday, August 20 6 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 21 6 a.m. – Midnight

Sunday, Aug. 22 – Friday, Aug. 27 6 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 28 6 a.m. – Midnight

Sunday, Aug. 29 6 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Comments Closed

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: