Teenage Drivers in Indiana Face New Restrictions

Teenage drivers in Indiana will be under a new set of laws effective Wednesday.

July 1st marks the start of new graduated driver’s license regulations in the Hoosier State. Bureau of Motor Vehicles spokesperson Dennis Rosebrough says the rules will affect who can ride with new teen drivers.

“For the first 180 days, they must be accompanied by a licensed instructor or a 25-year-old licensed driver,” says Rosebrough.

In the first six months, the teens also have restrictions on when they can be behind the wheel. The new laws put in a place a driving curfew from 10pm to 5am.

They also restrict usage of cell phones – including talking AND texting – until they’re over 18.