Incumbents Fare Well In KY Senate Races

From Kentucky Public Radio’s Tony McVeigh

It was a good night for incumbents in Kentucky Senate races Tuesday.

Senate Education committee chair Ken Winters of Murray turned back a comeback attempt by former Democratic Congressman Carroll Hubbard. Senate Minority Whip Joey Pendleton of Hopkinsville withstood a strong challenge from Republican Tom Jones.

Georgetown Republican Senator Damon Thayer won another term, as did Louisville Democratic Senators Tim Shaughnessy, Perry Clark and Denise Harper Angel.

Also heading back to Frankfort are Republican Senator Robert Stivers of Manchester and Democratic Senator Walter “Doc” Blevins of Morehead.

Former representative Kathy Stein of Lexington will assume the Senate seat formerly held by Ernesto Scorsone, who’s now a Fayette Circuit judge. And Greensburg Republican David Givens will fill the seat being vacated by former Senate budget chairman Richie Sanders, who did not seek re-election.